Non-European fantasy by women

In haste!

James Nicoll linked to this on Facebook and I liked it so much I had to post it here as well.

http://www.booktionary.blogspot.ca/2012/04/recommendations-non-european-fantasy-by.html

There are many wonderful authors and books mentioned here.  I realize I haven’t read many of the books by Kara Dalkey even though I remember her Goa series positively.   Other authors I’ve enjoyed:  Cherryh, Fallon, Jemisin, LeGuin, Okorafor, Tarr, Wells.

At one point in my reading 10+ years ago, I deliberately went out of my way to read non-European fantasy.  Why?  For the sheer, beautiful, variety of it!

There’s one trilogy I remember reading involving a city on the lake of the gods and threats to it.  I remember the author was a woman and the culture was Turkish, but can I remember the author or the name of the books now?  No.

Anyway, if you are looking for some variety and quality in your fantasy reading I recommend checking out that list!

